Skip to content

Cooking mama

May 10, 2010

It’s been awhile, I know. Didja miss me? I missed you. Things are a lot different since I was here last. I’m not ready to go into all that, but suffice it to say that I have a lot more time at home with my kids and zero time at the corporate job I once had. This is a very good thing, in case you were worried.

I have been trying to focus in on the key activities that make me happy now that I am home more and one of those is cooking and preparing food for my family. I went balls to the walls today people and everything is so yummy, I have to share.

Vegan Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

3 ripe bananas

1 3/4 c flour

1 c sugar

1 t baking soda

1 t salt

1/4 c Earth Balance (or other vegan) butter

3 T (heaping) apple sauce

Juice from 1/2 lemon

1 c vegan chocolate chips (Whole Foods brand is my favorite)

Mash the bananas in a large mixing bowl (I use a potato masher). Add the remaining ingredients and mix with a mixer just until well combined. Pour into a greased bread pan. Bake for an hour at 350 deg.

Note: this bread is very chocolaty. If you don’t like that, halve the amount of chocolate chips. Also? What’s wrong with you? I kid.

Basic bread dough

I checked this book out from the local library and made the basic recipe. I was so easy to make and the dough is rising now. Besides the aforementioned banana bread, I have never baked bread before. I’m sure mine will never look as pretty as the loaf on the cover, but I hope it will be delish!

Vegetable stock

I use a lot of veggie broth around here – for cooking rice in, for soaking beans in, for making soups. I got the great idea from our farm co-op to make my own with the leftover shoots and stems from the veggies I cut up for salads and stir fries. In a large pot add whatever veggie scraps you have (I added pea shoots, the ends of carrots, celery, scallions and radishes). Add water to the top of the pot, salt, pepper, basil and oregano. Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer for an hour. Turn off the heat and let cool. Ladle the broth over a fine strainer into containers for storage. I’m refrigerating half for immediate usage and freezing the rest.

Bon appetit!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 12:19 pm

    yummmm. I think I might try this recipe, but with regular butter and stuff. I’m not vegan or vegitarian or anything. Should be about the same though right?!

    • Sarita Pagita permalink
      May 11, 2010 1:45 pm

      Yes, it should be the same if you use real butter, regular chocolate chips and an egg. Though I would add a tablespoon or so of OJ to ensure it’s moist enough. I have made this the conventional way and found that helps a bit. Hope you enjoy!
      xo

Leave a Reply

