Skip to content

Creating S4

December 21, 2009

I worked with a life coach for about 8 months starting in October of 2008. One of the first goals I declared I wanted to accomplish was creating a space for me to be able to craft, play violin, read, draw/paint/write, whatever. A space that was just mine, a sacred space.

There was a dark, underused dry-bar area in my basement that I dreamed of turning into a walk in closet so that I could put all of my clothes in one closet (instead of the three that they are currently housed in). That dream never turned into a reality, so when I started brainstorming where I could create a space for myself, that came to mind.

When I set off to turn this dark and cluttered space into my dream space, I was overwhelmed. There was so much work to do and I had a hard time carving out hours at a time to focus on it.

My coach introduced me to the idea of micromovements. So I created micromovement wheels with tiny tasks which allowed me to feel like I was actually making progress.

Once I got the space cleared, there was flooring to install, walls/cabinets/bookcases to paint, new walls and lighting to put up. It was a pretty big project that I accomplished mostly on my own.

It was totally worth it though. I call it S4 (Sarita’s sacred studio/salon). My son calls it my secret compartment and thinks it’s magical when he gets to hang out in there with me.

Here are a couple of pictures of the almost final project. I would show you one from it today, but I am in the midst of painting one wall in magnetic/chalkboard paint, so it’s a bit of another work in progress.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 25, 2009 6:22 pm

    The spot you have chosen is peaceful and spacious. I also have a space in my place but it’s very small and cluttered. Still, the most important thing is that I have a place of privacy and creativity. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

